Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Rules, the foundation of a society, have aroused discussions and even debates over the positive and negative they leave to the young people. In some people's view, it does not seem to be too strict for young people. Contrary to these people's opinions is my perspective that these rules are too severe for young people to keep to because of the education and the relationship in society.

When it comes to children, the first thing that comes into our minds must be education. Parents have to send their children to school on time. In the meantime, children are forced to compete with other students on campus to fight for more resources. It cannot be denied that these rules have caused enormous pressure on children. To stand out among all students, kids must study hard to get good grades in class, which means their leisure time will be occupied and as a result, they have got no time to work on their own hobbies. In my childhood, the competition between classmates was not so intense, providing me substantial available time to focus on computer programing which has become my career today. In addition, intensified by the after-class course, it becomes increasingly difficult to win the race because everyone is hard-working but the total resources are finite. As a consequence, children need to study harder than any period before which is terrible.

What is common in society's rules is the relationship. For a number of people, it is the most struggling thing to deal with. For instance, kinship. At the time of the Spring festival, we usually go home and meet lots of relatives that we haven't seen for a year. However, in many situations, those uncles and aunts will not stop asking you about personal affairs such as have you got a girlfriend, when do you plan to marry, and so on. They are asking because these are rules of society. Similarly, the workplace, which possesses even more annoying rules, especially the relationship with the leader. Getting along well with your boss is of great significance to your career including the opportunity of promotion, the amount of bonus. All these regulations contribute to a high percentage of depression among young people.

For all reasons I mentioned above, I can safely draw the conclusion that the rules in society nowadays that young people should comply with are too serious due to their pressure on education and their burden on careers.