Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There are different opinions on whether, nowadays, young people are living under more strict rules than they were before or not. Even though some people think today's societies apply more stringent rules to youth than they did in the past, I believe otherwise, maintaining that the young generation of the modern world are living under relatively favorable social condition and less strict regulation compared to their previous generation, for instance, their parents. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is the many strict rules used to exist in various societies, most of which do not exist anymore. For example, in my country, young people had to marry at a young age, before reaching their 20th, to whom their parents decided not to one they loved. Take my mother as an example, my grandfather made my mother marry her cousin, whom she did not love, and after two years, they divorced. If it had not been because of the absurd rules, my mother would have enjoyed her life better during those years. Today, however, young people, even in my country, choose when to marry and whom to marry, and this fact is entirely acceptable in every society. Therefore, this reason manifests that societies do not act as rigorously as they used to do toward young people in the past.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is technological improvement and progress during the last decades, particularly the vast access to the internet. People, especially young ones, increase their knowledge of other cultures and societies' conditions through the computer and the internet. Therefore, the society in which they live cannot make them follow some strict rules that are not widespread in other cultures. Take one of the strict rules in my country that has been abolished recently. In my country, until last year, women did not have permission to work and drive, but thanks to the internet, public knowledge has been improved, and some campaigns against this rule have been established in social media. As a result, they now have the right to drive and work. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that many stringent rules that used to exist have been repealed in recent decades.

All in all, many people are in favor of the notion that today's societies execute many unfair and stringent rules on youth. Nevertheless, the foregoing reasons lead us to conclude that neither do nowadays cultures have rigid regulations as they had in the past, nor can they enact stringent rules.