Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the Internet is ubiquitous in our daily life, which provides plenty of convenience including the online map, social media, and online payment. I would say that for governments, it is more significant to increase Internet access than to increase public transportation because of the great developing potential of the Internet and the high value of the industries followed.

After so many years of growth, we still have not seen the top of the Internet. In other words, it owns an enormous capacity. There are a number of genius assumptions that have been proposed years ago. Nonetheless, limited by the development of the Internet, the majority of them have failed to be taken into practice. Once realized, any of them may change our lives on a large scale. For instance, Ali Pay, a tool for online payment, did not become prevail until the popularization of the Internet. Its appearance was a shock to our society for it defined a new way of paying. We no longer have to take any cash with us and all way need to do is scan the QR code and type the password to pay the money. Besides Ali Pay which is brought into reality for a while, other technologies such as VR and AR, also possess high expectations by the public.

As a technology that could be blended into many fields, the Internet has a unique economic value. According to statistics, more than half of new startup companies are related to the Internet. With the help of the Internet, they can easily promote their business to the whole country, and this is extremely important to their survival. Nearly most of the old industries can be boosted by the Internet. One example is agriculture. In the past, farmers must harvest their crops before they manage to sell them in the market to earn their living. However, through the Internet, farmers are capable to exhibit their crops to the national market and make reservations so that they don't need to worry about redundant crops.

For all reasons I have mentioned above, I can safely draw the conclusion that governments should assign more funds to develop Internet access than to improve public transportation.