The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus, the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the ten-year budget planning committee, that since birthrate in the city of Calatrava is declining, the funds budgeted education in the city’s public schools, can be reduced during the next decade, is not entirely and logically convincing because it is based on a few unproven assumptions. The committee claims, via a dubious recommendation, that since the number of students enrolled in the city’s public schools will decrease dramatically, the funds under question can be allocated for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. If this goes as per the recommendation, the city’s facilities that are used by adults, can be funded sufficiently. Also, the author claims that the adult population of the city will increase. Let us look at the multiple false assumptions and drawbacks that the argument contains.

Firstly, decline in birthrate can be contributed by several factors such as pragmatic family planning, unwillingness of couples to produce babies during an ongoing pandemic, adoption of orphan children etc. It does not seem feasible to assume that decline in birth rate will be an unceasing event in the future. When a nation will have more adults than children, the government will promote multiple children policy, as happened in South Korea in 2010. In that year, both public and private schools in South Korea, had 48 percent lesser children than the antecedent years. Consequentially, the government had to promote multiple baby policy and started providing incentives to couples who had more than one baby. Clearly, similar situation may arise in the city of Calatrava and the government may follow the same footsteps. Also, China recently faced such dilemma, where the adult is population is way higher than the government expected on the last decade, but this is the result of an increase in death rate of senior citizens of the country and not due to decline in birthrate. Thus, it can not be presupposed that decline in birthrate will contribute to the increase in adult population.

Secondly, funds allocated to public schools are used not only for teaching children, but also for alleviating the overall infrastructure of the school campus. Athletics, is already a part of the schools’ infrastructure and receive sufficient funds along with the allocated funds. Reduction in schools’ funds will lead to improper maintenance of the school buildings, labs, computers and also result in reduction of the teachers’ remunerations. Also, the athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities of the city are not only used by children, but also by adults. According a report by American Athletic Society, the Athletes are born from school days itself, and due to low or no cost of public schools’ athletic facilities, they prefer the school grounds rather any other private athletic club’s grounds. Clearly, reduction in funding these public athletic grounds will lead to unaffordability issues for many future Olympic champions.

Lastly, the committee claims that there will be an increase in the adult population, in the city. With declining birthrate, there can be no way in which the adult population will rise. Consequentially, funding facilities, which are used primarily by adults only, may go in vain as there are sufficient funds already allocated for maintenance of old facilities and construction of new facilities. Moreover, city’s facilities are also used by the senior citizens. For example, let’s consider a joy ride park or an amusement park of the city. The park is open to anybody above 18 years. Now, increasing facilities for the adults only, may also increase the inconvenience among the elderly people, causing them to reduce visits those parks which will eventually lead to overall financial loss of the park.

Based on the above-mentioned examples, it can be concluded that, the recommendations produced by the committee which is responsible for ten-year planning for the city of Calatrva, are based on unsubstantiated and baseless assumptions. Hence, it is disagreeable to reduce funds allocated to the public schools of the city and use those funds for increasing the facilities that are primarily used by adults.