Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

"History repeats itself" is a common and well known wisdom across the Stock Markets around the world. Similarly, "learn from your mistakes" or "There are no better teachers than failures" are also well known allegories across all human habitats throughout the world. These phrases are clear indications as to why our past is important in order to make better decisions in the present, even if we can not change our past. While the author presents a plausible reason that until we have some distance from both the past and present events, we are unable to make connections between them, most on the top and up people have been following the "learn from your mistakes" path to reach their heights. Let us dive deep into the topic with various situation based examples.

First, science has been a great witness of better decision making while considering it's past failures. One of the prime examples is Thomas Alva Edison, who failed 10,000 times before discovering electricity. Surely, he was able to make a connection between his myriad failed experiments and the final outcome. Repetitively, in several conferences, Thomas Alva Edison has glorified his past failures more than his success. On the contrary, overnight successful scientist will disagree to the claim and comply with the author's reason. Though both of these people are right and steadfast in their opinions, depending on the circumstances and their present conditions at the time of their success, clearly the author's claim is dubious.

Considering another situation, entrepreneur Mark Zuckerberg or Elon Musk has failed innumerous times before launching Facebook and SpaceX respectively. While an overnight billionaire, who perhaps has won a lottery or gained from inheritance might not understand the importance of "learning from mistakes" clause. Again, people from both of the categories are scrupulous and firm in their opinions, but considering the later scenario, one cannot deny the past in order prevent the same mistakes in the future.

Bolstering the above two points, in politics also, the current Prime Ministers or Presidents tend to restrain themselves from committing the same mistakes of their former counterparts, by either changing the strategies or inventing nascent strategies. As for example, the recent ongoing Covid-19 pandemic has forced the world leaders to change their orthodox thinking about running a government, and try out newer method for the same in order to provide a timely resolution against the tyranny of the pandemic. Countries such as USA or Russia or UK, who were once proud on their healthcare systems, are now struggling to fight against the new strains of the Covid-19 virus. Clearly, these leaders need to learn from their previous mistakes on not upgrading vaccines or not improvising on current testing methods.

To conclude, the above mentioned points are enough to disagree to the claim that knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Moreover, the reason presented by the author has to take into account multiple situation based observations. A particular claim can be true for someone while the same may seem dubious for others.