Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Science is the backbone towards the development and modernization of a nation, if not the world. Ever since the discovery of electricity, which is still considered to be the most important scientific discovery till date, governments throughout the world has been lenient towards scientific research and development. Even though profligate use of government funds for such purpose might lead to reduction of allocated funds for other important sectors, many developed countries have been openhearted and altruistic about R&D or research and development funds. This claim can be bolstered by several points.

Recent Covid-19 pandemic has slapped both the first world and third world countries on their healthcare systems. This also, gave a blow to their pride on their scientific research and development and specifically on the field of medicine. Even most developed and high-tech countries such as the United States of America, Switzerland, United Kingdom, China and Japan, could not stand against the initial blow of the Virus of Covid-19. On the contrary, third world countries such as India and Russia have been successful at eradicating the effects of the virus, by developing vaccinations such as Covaxin and Sputnik respectively. One might argue that the failure of the first world countries in fighting the initial outrage of the virus can be mitigated on doctors or medicinal scientists and lack of allocation of funds by the governments, but that is inexact. No government have placed any restriction on scientific research and development.

Another noticeable improvement is the defense sector. The world is aware of the Israeli armed unmanned boat for surveillance and protection duties, and the Iron Dome interceptor. While the former has been the first of its kind and came into existence after a massive investment of around $400 mn USD, the second has caught attention of defense research organizations worldwide during the recent and ongoing Israel-Gaza war. the Iron Dome interceptor has the ability to fire at drones and choppers at a range of a whopping 6miles. Though Gaza is controlled by the terrorist organization ISIS, they lack such large-scale military equipment. Without the government’s unconditional and irrational support, achieving such feats had not been possible.

However, not imposing any restrictions on the allotted funds, may lead to misuse and even theft by some corrupted scientists. Some unprincipled scientists fulfill their personal and financial goals with these funds and cheats out of the governments by providing scrupulous audit information. To keep a check on such fraudulent and degenerating behaviors, the governments should perform stricter audits and accounts checks, frequently and anonymously. Though such shady behaviors are very profuse, the proportion of honest scientists and dishonest scientists in a country differs by a vast number. Consequently, imposing too much restrictions can lead to decline in creativity among the honest scientists.

To conclude, imposing restrictions on scientific research and development, has both positive and negative repercussions, depending on the severity of the standpoints. While too much restrictions are bound to create negative aftereffects, not imposing any restrictions can be taken for granted as well. But at desperate times, desperate measures are needed, in order to forestall the massive impacts of the situations at hand. It is not feasible to generalize whether the governments should place restrictions on scientific research and developments.