Teachers salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and

Teachers are the backbone in the personal and professional development of a student. The word “student” is not justified, had there been no “teachers”, and every teacher was a student at some point of their lives. While critics argue that a teacher’s remuneration should be based on the academic performance of their students, it seems to be a highly scrupulous statement. Without proper justifications and bolstering by facts and figures, adjudicating on someone’s financial capabilities seems to be fallacious. Also, a student’s academic performance depends on myriad factors; some being peer pressure, personal or family conditions, affordability of books and other essential study materials and heedlessness. Let us look at the factors, which dictates the academic performance of a student, and also factors which contributes towards the salary and other financial gains of a teacher.

A teacher can be a professor at a prestigious Tier 1 university or Tier 2 and 3 universities, or at a high school, since we are considering academic performances only. A professor’s salary encompasses base salary, research grants from various organizations such National Science Foundation or any other premier research organizations, and consultancy fees. A class may consist of hundreds of students, and it is considered a teacher’s responsibility to keep a track of individual student’s academic performance. But, a teacher can not force a student to study after class hours and also has no control over the ways in which the students are going to spend the rest of the day. Let’s consider two students, A and B. While student A works hard to finish the assignments on time after going back to his/her apartment, student B procrastinates and dawdles from student A. Also, early completion of assignments leaves student A with time to revise the day’s classwork and to prepare a little extra of the syllabus. On the other hand, student B lingers to finish the assignments on time, let alone extra preparation. Obviously, in such scenarios, their professors are not in control of their academic performances.

Peer pressure is another substantial instrument in measuring the academic performance of a student and also should not be culpable of negative results only. Let us consider the same students A and B. Let’s say each of them have separate social circles. On weekends, student A spends most of his available time on studies with his friends, while on the other hand, student B spends most of the time, with his respective social circles, on trivial things such as clubbing or any other time wasters. It is clearly useless to compare the academic performances of these students and also student A is bound to perform better considering the hours he puts into his academics.

Another considerable factor in dictating a student’s academic performance is his/her set of circumstances. Ability to handle exam pressure or death of a family member on the previous day of the exam or even on the same day of the exam, may lead to disappointing performance from him/her. Let us consider student A. He/she is the topper of the batch with exceptionally high GPA and is always considered to be brilliant student by all his/her professors or teachers. Now, on the week of the senior year exam, he/she receives death news of his/her parent or parents. Obviously, it is hard to imagine the on spot mental condition of him/her. Consequentially, he/she may not perform as expected and not up to the mark of his/her previous year’s performance. In such scenarios, isn’t it dishonorable to lambaste the professor for the student A’s poor performance?

A careful study of the above-mentioned examples and presented situations, will clearly indicate that a teacher’s salary should not be based on the academic performances of the students. Also, considering the situations that a student goes through, a teacher is not be blamed or held responsible for the student’s academic performances.