The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce.

"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The recommendation provided by the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce states that the best way to combat a crime is to install high-intensity lightning in business district that will result in revitalize the reducing neighborhoods in our city. However, before this recommendation can properly be evaluated, author needs to provide the following three more evidences .

Firstly, author is comparing a two different business districts criminal scenarios. In order to do so author should provide details about the Belleeville district and Amburg district. These two cities may have a different financial conditions. People from these districts may have a differed mindsets. Maybe Amberg district's litterecy rate is lower hence people are un employeed which resulting in increase of crime in Amberg. If either of these scenario is true then, the writer's main argument is significantly weaken.

Secondly, another deficiency in author's argument is that he assumed that people will do less crimes in high-lightning. Hence, author should provide more evidence regarding this assumption. There maybe a chance that criminals might did crimes in high lightining but those crimes were never reported. If criminals are doing a crime vigorously then they will not consider, there exist a lightning or not. Hence, the author's recommendation does not hold water.

Moreover, the writer mentioned that police patrols do not reduced vandalism in the city of Amber. So, the author is considering there is no impact of patrols on criminals. There maybe a chance that criminals got aware of a patrol timing of police hence they are avoiding crimes during that period of time. Hence, author's assumption is possibly false.

In conclusion, the argument provided in prompt as it stands now considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to provide above three evidences then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.