A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the backbone of a nation. For supporting student with proper education, a nation should have a definite curriculum. The prompt states that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly agree with the statement, however, in some cases different curriculum is needed.

Firstly, there are some basic topics those need to be taught to students in a particular class. Those basic subjects are fundemental for a students. For example, mathematics is the most basic subjects almost in every field of studies. To attain higher studies in subjects, e.g. engineering, pure science, accounting, economics, business, and so on, one must need know the basic of mathematics. This is the age of science and technology. To live in this present world one must need to have basic knowledge of science and technology. For higher study in every field of study one may requied to handle some equipments, specially during research work. For instance, a researcher from enthropology often need to operate some mechanical or electrical equipments, and more generally, in our daily life we need to deal with different technologies. Thus to cope with the modern world some basic knowledges of science in mendatory. These examples shows us during school life some basic subjects should taught to all the students from all over the country.

Moreover, it is now a world with serious competition. If there is much variation in the curriculum, then there is a possibility that students from one state of the country will be lacking behind. For example, in a state of a country, science related subjects are marginal and the curriculum of that state gives more emphasis on arts related subjects. In this case, there is a possibility that the students in this state will lack behind in the science and technology , and as a result, the whole state will technologically insufficient. This example illustrate us that a common curriculum is helpful for a nation to work as a coherent body. therefore, a basic common curriculum should be there in all over the nation.

However, some countries are so large that there is much variation from state to state in case of languages, cultures etc. For examples, in India there is twenty nine states and 17 different languages. So in this country in each state there should be different syllabus in case of culture and languages. In this case, a common national curriculum will not be efficacious.

In conclusion, it is true that when a country is larger and heterogeneous, then a homogeneous curriculum will not be effective. However, for maintaining a standard throughout the nation the basic syllabus of a particular class should be the same. Therefore, a nation should maintain homogeneity in the basic subjects throughout the country until they enter college.