Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt states that students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively. I mostly agree with the statement. My position is based on two reasons.

Firstly, questions can help the teacher to teach a subject comprehensively. In most cases, teachers do not cover the whole topics of a subject. Student's question will help the teacher to illustrate the missing part of the topics. For example, a chemistry teacher is teaching about the atomic model by different scientists. After Rutherford's atomic model the teacher has started to teach Bohr's atomic model, which is the updated version of Rutherford's model. Teacher may not include the limitations of Rutherford's atomic model. If any student ask the students that why it is needed to improve the Rutherford's atomic model, then teacher will tell the students about the limitations of atomic model of Rutherford. The example shows us that teacher may sometime unintentionally leave an important topic, and by the student's question teacher will able to teach about the uncoverd topic, which will give the completeness of the lecture of a teacher.

Secondly, in most of the cases student's question determine whether they understand the lesson or not. A student can make a good question when he or she stay attentive in the classroom. A student will only questions teacher when he or she understand some part of the lesson. If any student does not question about the topic then either they have not understand at all or the topic is so easy that it has not required to teach. For example, in a class a teacher delivers a lecture on theory of Relativity. After the lecture, no student ask any question, it is so unlikely that every student will understant the theory by single lecture of a teacher. In this case, the teacher should understand that he or she is not success to elucidate the topic. Therefore, question often determine whether the students understant the topic or not.

However, in some case some unrelated questions of student hampers the teaching procedure of a teacher. Sometimes, students ask questions which are really not relevant to the topics.In that case, those questions have no positive effects on learning.

In conclusion, it is now clear that to ask question is an integral part of the teaching process, but the questions must be relevant one.