Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

University is for detail teaching to a student in a particular field or subject and students should be engage in research on his subject matter. In the topic of my issue task, it is stated that Universities should require every student to complete a variety of subject outside their field of study. I mostly disagree to the statement that student in the university should only concentrate on his field of study rather than taking many outside courses and my position is based on two reason for my stand and a reason of concession.

Firstly, outside courses will kill student’s precious time and it will bring almost no efficacious result to a student’s life. For example, some university make compulsory for a computer science student to complete sociology and English literature. It is very possible that a computer science student will have no interest on these subjects and sometimes these subject become bar to pursue graduation for a student. If a computer science student fail in these subject then he have to wait for next session to reappear on the exam. This will waste a large amount of time for that student. When he was supposed to concentrate on programming language at that time he is busy with the English language just complete the criteria of the university. So, this outside courses of the university seriously wasting the student’s precious time.

Secondly, to complete these outside courses student need to pay which cause student more money for graduation, and as these courses have very little effect on student life or job life so this paying to courses is just wasting of student’s money. For instance, an English literature student need complete a course on general science and for this he need to pay just like the core courses. For paying this course, he need to manage more money. So he has to spend more time in his per time job or take more loan just to complete this useless course. Therefore, these outside courses are also wasting students’ money.

However, sometimes these outside courses give a chance to a student to discover his area of interests. For example, a math student need to do a philosophy course. During this course, he find that philosophy is much more interesting than math. And this course attract so much that he start to read further about the philosophy and at last he decided to change his major and finally he has completed his graduation as philosopher and make his life successful and happy. He may not complete those courses of math and ultimately his graduation may remain just a dream, which will make his life sad and maudlin. Thus, outside courses sometime can offer a student to discover himself.

It is true that, sometimes an outside study from student’s field of study may help a student to discover his area of interest, but these outside courses waste student’s time and money both, which are very crucial materials for a student. Therefore, university should not compel student to take variety of courses outside a student’s field study rather student should concentrate on their particular field of study.