The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the report, it is conluded that the main reason for absenteeism in school and work is cold, and as consumption of fish reduces cold, the daily use of Ichthaid- a nutritional supplement from fish oil- wil reduce cold and absenteeism in West Meria. However, the author supports the conclusion with three unfounded assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Before, evaluating the argument, two pieces of evidence need to collect and analyze.

First of all, the author assumes that East Maria and West Maria are similar. However, this may not be the case. The author mentions in the argument that people in the Eest Maria visit once or twiece per year for the treatment of cold as they consume fish in very high rate. It is possible that the nature of cold in East Meria and West Meria are different. For example, the cold, the people in East Meria suffer from, is due to the seasonal change, for which consumption of fish is helpful. On the other hand, cold in West Meria is due to virus, for which consumption of fish or any supplement of fish may not be innocuous. If the case is true, then the author's comperison between East Meria and West Meria will not be valid and the argument will not hold the water.

Secondly, the author presumes that the real cause of absenteeism in West Meria is due to cold, but this may not be necessarily true. It is possible that the students and workers in the West are malinger. They just pretend that they are sick and take the advantage of sick. It is also possible that people in West Meria have different other reason for absenteeism and report in their organization that they were attacked by cold. If any of the cases are true, then the author contention that cold is the main reason for ansence in West Meria will not be reasonable.

Finally, cold may be the main reason and fish may helpful to prevent the cold, but author claim without any evidence that Ichthaid- the supplement from fish oil-will be effective. It is possible that he supplement is not contain the ingridients of fish, which is responsible to prevent cold, then the supplement will not be much helpful.

In conclustion, Ichthaid or fish consumption may be helpful to reduce cold and absenteeism; however, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions and render it as specious and untenable as possible. Therefore, the author should provide additional eveidence to support his conclusion and to make the argument cogent and reasonable.