Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Main responsibility of a teacher is to teach his or her student properly and make his or her course fathomable to their students. The prompt stated that salary of teacher should be based on the performance of their students. I mostly support on this statement for two reasons.

Firstly, performance of students in a course mostly depends on the capability of that course teacher. Is the course teacher able to make his or her course understandable to his student or the student are able to getting what the teacher want to teach them? For instance, a chemical engineering teacher want to teach about control valve. There are a lot of abstruse material in this course like how feed forward valve function, how a control valve response to input signal etc. The target of this course teacher is to answer this entire question and to give a lucid picture of different kinds of control valve and their actual behavior in a process plant. If after completion these course students are not, getting the complex attitude of control valve, they have still a lot of question about different topics of process control then it is obvious that students will end up with poor result. If teacher was able to give insightful lecture, an elucidate lecture students will understand the course and can make a good result. So clearly, it is the failure of the teacher for lower performance of the students.

Secondly, one may say a student can do badly because of his or her disability, of course I accede to this point my point is about the whole class. Whole class cannot get a lower gpa at a time. Naturally a class consist of students that some are good, some average and some are below average. For instance, there are 50 students on that mentioned course and most of them are end up with grade C or B-, it is not seemly. It is predictable that the grading graph would follow bell shaped curve. This the failure of that particular teacher. The whole class get a poor grade just because of incapability of the teacher.

However, performance of students is not the only criteria to judge a teacher. Teacher’s behavior towards students, depth of knowledge about his or her subject, research works etc. need to be taken into measurement. A teacher who teaches well and students of his or her course get a good grade but his behavior toward students is abysmal. Of course, this kind of behavior is questionable for that teacher. A teacher may give a good grade to his student it does not prove that the teacher have depth knowledge about his subject. So other than students’ performance there are other criteria which need to take into account to evaluate a teacher.

It is true that a teacher should be evaluated by many criteria other than student’s performance but student’s performance is the fundamental measure. Therefore, salary of a teacher should be based on student’s performance.