Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Every field of study has a curriculum that prepared students for their career or job life; the more they learn about their field, the more they will gain skills and expertise. However, some argued that students should also study other courses outside their subject. Although students may get the basic knowledge about other areas, in my opinion, it is rather unnecessary or sometimes can create problems for the students, and in this essay, I am going to present my position of disagreement with three reasons.

To begin with, a variety of courses besides the main subject can kill students’ valuable time. Students only get four to five years to finish up their university education and if there are many optional courses, then their time will be wasted by focusing on those subjects instead of their field-related courses. For instance, a student who is not good at history or learning by heart subjects will suffer to read them and also to pass the course, they will try to give more effort on these optional courses. As a result, they will have less time or lose their focus on main courses. But the main target should be to make students the best in their own discipline as it only helps them to get jobs.

Secondly, every job sector has specialists who can do their job perfectly. So, having any basic knowledge would not provide any opportunity for the students. For instance, there is rarely any benefit for an engineer to learn business or arts. So, making them study these will impede their main focus. Also, no employer of the engineer will ask an employee to do arts or go to a business deal. Every field has its expert employee, so thinking someone will ask workers outside their field is rather idiocy.

Finally, optional subjects can create distractions for the students: they may get fascinated by one of the subjects and drop their main interest. For example, a literature student who has taken one of the computer courses and felt that he or she is more interested in computers than literature can make them confused about their career. But there is also no guarantee that other programs will not attract them-- he or she can find music class also appealing and concentrate on it. So, it will only make disruption and succumb to confusion about what they want because of these courses.

In conclusion, the optional subjects will not bring any benefits for the students, rather these are a burden for them as lots of time and energy will get wasted due to studying them. So, imposing many optional courses on the students is not a good judgment for the university thinking about the weight of advantages versus disadvantages.