We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People learn what they see around them: from family, from society, from friends. But every person is different from each other, so there is always a division in people’s views; some may follow a path or a belief, while others may deny these. However, we can learn from both of those contradictory opinions which can help us to mold our own thinking. In the prompt, it is asserted that individuals can learn more from the individuals they share the same views rather than the different ones. But, in my opinion, both are required for a person to gain wisdom and established his own principles more firmly.

To begin with, the same views can offer less--- people already knows what is to believe and it will prevent studying more or maybe sometimes enslave them to those. For example, a long before when Socratic lived, Athens citizen used to follow the same ideas and stick to those philosophies so hard that they could not see what can be the truth. When Socratic showed the Athens citizen his philosophy which can bring prosperity, they could not accept it because it would hurt their faith and question their legitimacy. So, they ostracized him and suffered him to death. But today people follow his philosophy as most of it is appropriate. From this example, individuals can see that only sticking to similar opinions can impede learning or accepting what is valid.

Secondly, the contradictory viewpoint can offer more information, not to change your position but to strengthen your beliefs. When someone disagrees with our perception, it will courage us to seek more answers whether who is correct. For example, humans in ancient before used to know that the world is flat. But then some scientists impugn it and one way to another, they started to find out the truth and it led them to know that earth is in fact an ellipsoid. So, contradictory thinking can help to gain more discoveries. Another instance is, when the Covid pandemic was running, some public in Bangladesh started to spread the rumor that some Sajina leaves can remedy the virus, and it was surprising that some educated persons also started to eat them as their knowledge was feeble. However, later on, people searched for scientific answers to break the misconceptions about it. So, sometimes if the question is not arise, then it can weaken individuals' true knowledge.

In conclusion, the same view can reinforce the learning but it can sometimes also limit not to questioning those thinking, but the differing opinion can urge them to seek more answers that expand their understanding. So, different views can offer more learning just the same as the similar viewpoints are.