The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower Builder, a company that builds new houses, has written in a memo that they should expand the family rooms and kitchen as their competitor domus construction has these features and has able to sell houses at significantly higher prices than the national average. He has reached this solution based on a survey. however, the author’s contention, as it currently stands, rests on three unwarranted assumptions that currently render it invalid.

To begin with, the author has presumed that their company's competitor has sold homes much more quickly and at higher prices because their (domus construction) houses have a larger family room and a large appointed kitchen. however, this may not be the case: they could have better dealers and skilled employees to pursue the customer than any other company. The author did not mention how many of the selling houses have these house features and without proper records, his assertion does not hold water. it is possible that only a few of those houses have a big family room and kitchen, but the maximum number of houses do not. so, without proper data, any presumption could be inaccurate.

Secondly, the president has assumed that if they build bigger family rooms and kitchens in all houses, then they can boost their sales and gain higher profit. but they don't know if every customer wants that kind of feature. Maybe the maximum number of the buyers like a casual or small family room or average size kitchen and as a result, without getting any of these features, they could disagree to buy any houses which lead to more loss in profit. Even if all the buyers are agreed have these features, still there is no guarantee that the sales will increase. there is a chance that they (buyers) do not like other rooms or the location of the house. so, only having these two features could not ensure the higher profit and sells.

Thirdly, the author has asserted that as the recent buyers prefer to not have a separate room for dining, they can use the expense in kitchens and family rooms. but it is not certain how many customers will agree with not having a dining room. Therefore, there is a possibility that the expense may not cover the expenses. Also, a dining room does not need any extra features like cabinets and sink, and many more. so, two expenses cannot be equal and hence it may not be useful to eliminate the dining room for every house.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the writer can provide three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it can be possible to determine whether their planning of extending the family room and kitchen in all of the houses will increase the profit and the sales.