When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the prompt, it is presented that Stanley Park once was the largest and the most used public park in town. But though it is still the largest park, its popularity is reduced and the author suggested that to make Standly Park more popular again, they should provide more benches for the public just like another park Carlton. However, the author’s argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically reduced the persuasiveness of his argument.

To begin with, the author has assumed that Stanly Park is not popular now based on the video camera records of the park’s parking: only 50 cars per day were shown in the last month's recording. However, it might be possible that the people who used to go there now don’t use the parking lot but still the visiting of people is as large as before. Maybe, the visiting of the public is less on this month only and the scenario is reverse on other months. There is no actual data presented if the visit of the public is reduced or not beside this video camera recording of last month. So, the author’s assumption that the popularity is decreasing because of the shortage of seats may not be correct as there is no strong evidence that the public actually doesn’t go the Standly Park as it used to.

Secondly, the author has compared Standly Park with another tiny Calton Park which is in the middle of the business district. He asserts that more than 150 people visited Calton Park on a weekday and it is because they have more seats for the people. However, the record only shows how popular it is on the weekday, but whether it is the same for other days of the week? Maybe the citizen like to go there only on a weekday as it is middle of the district and small, but they don’t go there on other days. So, it can not be possible to assert that Calton Park is popular and its popularity is because of the ample seat.

Thirdly, the author has assumed that the increase of benches can improve the popularity of the Stanly Park and they should use the unused open areas in order to give people a chance to socialize. But it can be possible that there are other reasons for people not going to the park. Maybe seating is not an issue for them. Maybe the park could not keep its standard: it is not clean and the facilities are very little. As a result, the public is uncontented with this incompetence and showing relucted to go there. If this scenario has any merit, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide three pieces of evidence stated above or perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it can be possible to determine if the argument is valid or not and whether the increase of seats will increase the popularity of Stanly Park again.