When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author in the given argument concludes that the Stanley park needs to increase the seating benches in its open spaces in order to increase socializing space and eventually turn it as popular as Carlton Park. While the conclusion made by the author might be true, as it stands now, the conclusion is based on three heavily unwarrented assumptions, and can not hold water unless justified further.

First of all, the author claims that the comparatively low number of car parks per day in Stanley Park compared to Carlton park, has a direct impact to the number of people visiting the park. Normally, in the park, people show up for exercise, jogging, strolling, or walk their pets. It seems like a very far fetched assumption that the lower number of cars parked in the parking space indicates low occupancy. Maybe, in Stanley park, majority of the people come by foot because it is within the town and within walking distance of most of the residents. In this case, the conclusion made by the author is seriously weakened and the extra sitting space arrangement could be just a waste of money and time.

Moreover, the comparison with the Carlton Park in term of occupancy or arrival of people could be an unfair one. The argument states that the Carlton Park is in the heart of the business district which indicates a highly populated area. In contrast, the Stanley Park could be in comparatively less dense area and can not attract the same flow of the people despite the increased sitting arrangement as recommended by the author. Thus, in this case too, the conclusion made my the author can not hold water.

Finally, the author bases the conclusion on the assumption that the people come to park for sitting and socializing. On contrary, in most of the parks, people just wander around and like to stay mobile. Maybe, in case of Stanley Park as well, people would not be too keen to sit and talk with people which would make the added sitting arrangements redundant. Thus, this assumption seems bleak and do not support the conclusion made by the author unless supported via some more pieces of evidence.

To conclude, the conclusion drawn by the author in the given argument seems weak and unpersuasive due to three unwarrented underlying assumptions. As it stand, the conclusion can not be supported unless those unwarrented assuptions are reinforced with further evidence.