The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the last few decades, the world has witnessed a drastic change in term of technology and conveniences, which has affected the lifestyle of the people to the great extent. The prompt here addresses one such issues, and states that the luxuries of modern day life is preventing people from developing into strong and independent individual. I mostly agree with the prompt because of following two reasons. However, I do concede that there could be exception in some cases.

First of all, the overuse of modern luxury appliances in house and workplace has impacted the physical activity and resilence of the people all over the world. Many studies has revealed the deadly scenario of increasing rate of obesity and other physical impact in human beings due to increasingly inactive life, courtesy of contemporary luxury options. The dependency in luxury items has impacted the mental and physical strength of people around the world. The people now can not even think about sustaining the harsh weather and struggle for life scenario of people some decades ago.

Moreover, the overuse of conveniences in contemporary life has highly promoted complacency in human beings. For instance, people now have the luxury of modern calculators and computers for calculations and data loggings. These things are supposed to help make things better for human if used properly, but, the overuse and over reliance on these modern technology has gradually turned many people incompetent and dull. These days, even a 5th grader might need to use a calculator to complete a simple calculation, which was not the case some decades ago. The people were eager and truely interested to use their mental ability to go through majority of the tasks and took pleasure out of it.

However, the modern luxuries are not always harmful or with negative impact. The advancement in contemporary luxury and technology has allowed the people travel around the world independently than they could few decades ago. People now can feel more secure and near home due to the convenience available. Even a teenagercan travel around the world independently with the help of modern luxury and technology.

To conclude, the contemporary luxuries and conveniences has definitely prevented people from developing into independent and resilient individuals to a great extent. However, there do remain some exceptions where these luxuries and advancement in technology has in fact helped people to act more independently and become more thoughtful.