Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Educators and students have a unique relationship that can not be imitated by others. The primary task of the educators is to make their student understand what they are teaching. In this context, I totally agree with the statement that the educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

The mechanism of teaching and being taught see no age bounds. That means, the student can be as small as an infant, or the teacher or educator could be well into the 90's. Some tutions are test oriented while some are for general understanding. In any case, the contents usually consist of plethora of facts and events that the students might find obscure and meticulous. That is where the true skill of the educator comes into play. The educator must be able to conduct the lessons such that the students remain interested as well as remember the fact for a long period of time. For instance, a history teacher can simply write the dates and list of allies of second world war for the students to imbibe and remember for the test day. This however, is not so effective technique and the facts may not stick with the students for long. In more interesting approach, the teacher can explain the interesting aspects of the world war II before starting with the more mundane facts and data. The teacher can explain the major events, the major protagonists of the war and what were the inimical consquences of the war. This sets up the premise nicely for the teacher to go with more painstaking facts and also allow the students to remember those facts due to interesting events associated with them. This not only helps the educators or teachers to prepare their for the exams, but also helps the students to retain those important facts for prolonged time.

Similarly, this technique of teaching the ideas, trends and contexts beforehand also helps the students to grasp the insight of the topic and allow them to interact with the teacher when the facts and data are being taught in following classes. This not only helps them to retain more information, but also helps to expand the horizon of learning due to broad communication specturm. This technique of teaching is being polular lately due to its effectiveness. In another example, the teacher can make the students recite the dates and other facts associated with the first human landing in moon. Rather, the teacher can excite the students with the behind the curtain details and contexts of NASA or the astronauts themselves which not only excite the students for learningfurther in that topic but can also inspire them for better profession.

However, in some cases, the facts are facts irrespective of the availablity of related contents. For instance, the students must remember the chemical formula of the hydrocarbons with or without interesting context to relate with. There are no shortcuts in such cases. Nevertheless, this technique of keeping the students excited about the facts by letting them know about the related context and ideas about the same topic can be very fruitful for the educators and must be promoted.