A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion drawn regarding the new Captain Seafood restuarant that specializes in sea food regarding its polularity and profitablity seems far-fetched and based on very weak assumptions. There are many evidence and doubts that seriously challange the validity of the conclusion.

The author mentions about the recent sales study that indicates the increment of 30 percent in consumption of seafood dishes in Bay city during past five years. However, the author mentions nothing about the population rise trend in the same period. Since the five year time is a very significant time duration, there is every possibility that the population might have increases substantially which resulted in the increased consumption of the sea food along with other consumption. The evidence of the population being constant over past five years is essential to validate the conclusion drawn by the author. Else, the increment in sea food consumption would rather be a natural effect of population rise and current sea food restuarants would be sufficient to provide service to the customers. Moreover, the data related to the occupancy of the existing restuarants is essential to evaluate either there is necessity of new sea food restuarant in the town or not.

Also, although the study mentions that the majority of the families eat significantly low home-cooked food, there is a special mention about the health concern. Since it is universally accepted fact that the restuarant food are not too beneficial for health, the people might still opt for some other healthier choice rather than zooming into the new restuarant. There is no any mention about the sanitation level, hospitality and service quality of the New Captain Seafood restuarant which further casts doubts on whether the people might opt for the new restuarant or go for some other healtheir options, which further weakens the conclusion. Maybe the new restuarant would not be good enough or healthy enough to attract the health conscious people of the city and operate below the expected profits. In a sense, it also sounds a bit impractical for the entire family going into a theme restuarant for dinner or lunch. It is because the family group usually expect variety and extended menu for dinner or lunch so that they can share among themselves. This might not be the ideal case for themed restuarant like New Captain Seafood restuarant because of their limited food choice based on sea.

Thus, presence of these several doubts makes the conclusion drawn regarding the profitibility and popularity of the New Captain Seafood restuarant very weak and it can not stand firm until it provide enough support to negate those doubts.