The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazatte, the author states the plan of the town council of Balmer Islands to limit the number of mopeds rented in the island with an aim to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The author seems to base his conclusion primarily on the observation made of neighboring island of Torseau, which if true, might indicate that the prediction could hold water. However, as it stands now, the predictions seem bleak and in dire need of three additional answers before evaluating its plausibility.

First of all, the author seems to emphasize that the case of neighboring island of Torseau would fit perfectly in case of Balmer Island too. What if the nature of business, households, and transportation of the island of Torseau are entirely different than the Balmer Island? If this were the case, the predictions drawn by the author would be highly undermined. In order to strength his stance, the author must provide the answers to support the compliance of the island of Torseau and Balmer Island in a way that would justify using of similar remedial methods of controlling accidents in both islands.

Moreover, the author seems to assume that the 50 percent reduction in moped accidents in the island of Torseau is a very significant reduction. What if the data of accidents, when presented in terms of numbers instead of percentage is not that significant? For instance, if the number of accidents before and after the remedy were 2 and 1 respectively, the reduction percentage would be 50 percent, which apparently misleads the actual scenario of the accidents in that island. Thus, the author must elucidate his letter by clearly illustrating complete data and pattern of accidents before recommending it for the Balmer Islands.

Finally, the author seems to assume that the reduction of per day rental limit of mopeds from 50 to 30 would solve the problem entirely, even if adopted. What exactly is the basis of reduction of limit by 20 numbers? Would that suffice or be insufficient? Would that not affect the daily lifestyle and mobility of inhabitants and tourists? The author seems to neglect myriad of questions to hastly conclude the result. Such haste application might prove counter-productive and yield more adverse effect, on contrary to the assumed outcome.

To conclude, the application of methodology as in case of the island of Torseau might well prove to be successful in Balmer Islands too. However, the author provides a very few concrete evidence for us to sense the plausibility of the predictions made. So, the letter would be more reliable if retrofitted with additional information and answers to the questions mentioned in above paragraphs, which would made it easier to evaluate the predictions.