The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

A letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette regarding the reductions in the number of mopeds rented to decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. To substantiate this views, the writer has given the example of neighboring island of Torseau which has enforced similar limits on moped rentals and provided 50 percent reduction in mopeds accidents. The writer comes to hasty conclusion predicting similar limitation on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents. The arguments as it stands now does not hold water and it needs to be backed by the evidences in order to make arguments valid.

Firstly, the argument states the increase in population on Balmer Island to 100000 during the summer months. It fails to provide any relevant reason regarding the population growth during summer months. Either, it is due to immigration of population due to suitable environment conditions in Balmer island. The reason of population growth may be due tourist destination during summer season. The argument fails to provide any comparison of population growth with other cities during summer months. The assumption belies on the claim that population of Balmer Island increases during the summer months without providing any relevant information on population growth.

Secondly, the writer believes that the cause of accident is due to engagement of mopeds with pedestrians in Balmer island. It may be possible that road conditions are bad in Balmer or the reason for accidents is due to sharp turning of roads. It may be possible that the roads are sloppy and drivers are careless or insouciant while driving. It may be true that the cause of accidents is due to collision of people with the commercial vehicles or cars. It is prejudiced to assume that the reason behind the accidents is due to the collision of mopeds with pedestrian and forcing the limitation of mopeds from 50 to 30 per day during summer season by town council.

Thirdly, the argument is corroborated with the neighboring island of Torseau which enforced similar limitations on mopeds and consequently, the accidental rates decrease up to 50 percent. The reason behind the decrease in accidents is due to good road condition in Torseau island. Either, it is due to effective utilization of traffic rules and regulation inside Torseau island. It is possible that the roads are wide without sharp turns in Torseau island. It may be possible that in Torseau island the population decreases during summer due to unsuitability of climate to live there and people generally make plans to move out during summer days in Torseau island which may be the factor of accidental decrease. It is unfavorable to compare two island Balmer and Torseau which knowing their geographical locations, climate variations and population density. It may be possible that population density of Balmer is more in comparison to the population density of Torseau during summer days which erroneously provide the comparison of accidentals rate between two cities.

In conclusion, the arguments as it stands now is full of unwarranted assumptions and it needs to be backed by relevant evidences in the form of systematic format in order to make arguments valid to assume that the decrease in mopeds rented definitively decreases the percent rate of accidents in Balmer islands.