Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this cutting-edge century, grading system is implemented to compare students under one standard value. However, competition for higher grades seriously limits the student in terms of quality of education as students are particularly focused for exam point of view rather than deep understanding of the given topics. I mostly agree with the given statement as competition for high grades focuses for measuring long term memory rather than deep understanding of given topic.

Firstly, our education system measures student potentiality in terms of grade. The student who score good grades is considered talent or erudite in our society although he is bookish and lacks non-academic qualities to sustain life whereas another student who is average one in securing grade is considered inferior although he has potential and rich in non-academic qualities. For example- Michael has a good memory and he can learn with the help of photography memory without understanding the given topic and secure good grade in the given topic whereas Peter do not have any ability to learn it but has a very good understanding of the given topic and writes in exam according to his ability. Our education system provides Michael with a A+ grade whereas Peter is treated with B grade and making Peter inferior in comparison to Michael.

Secondly, our education system comprises syllabus which is very hard to complete in a given semester and restrain both student and teacher to cover in a given limited time period which let teacher to provide brief knowledge rather than deep understanding on the given topic. Student also cover this topic in a cursory manner only to obtain good grades without proper understanding of it. This types of format limits the quality of learning at all levels of education. For instance- In a competitive exam, the students are compelling to learn short cut ideas and formulas to solve the given problems in order to save time making them robot like behavior and any changes of values led them difficult to solve that given problem.

Thirdly, this achievement process of higher grades stress students in order to learn in a limited time frame affecting their physiology or disruption of mind. In the race of achieving good grades, some students are unable to compete and sacrifice their life by killing themselves. Some student started living solitary life in afraid to face society who judge them on the basis of good grades. This competition adds extra burden to student and forces them to get high grades at any cost in order to achieve success in life through financial achievement.

However, this type of competition forces student to labor hard in term of study. In this race, it motivates some student to achieve good grades in order to make their profile stronger which helps them to secure their future in terms of money and image.

In conclusion, in the competition of achieving higher grades, it restraints students physically and mentally which overall limits the quality of learning at all levels.