The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor in his memo recommends to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in ocean view in order to improve Hopewell’s economy and generate additional tax revenues. The assumptions behind this conclusion was that the nearby town of ocean view built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel, two years ago and consequently tourism in ocean view has increased, new businesses have opened there and tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Thus, the mayor of Hopewell is based on unwarranted assumptions which lack a proper evidence in order to support it. In order to make argument valid, it will need to support with valid reasoning.

To begin with, the arguer assumes that the reason behind the flourish in economy of Ocean view is through the building of a new municipal golf course and resort hotel in the nearby town. While, it may not be true, the Ocean view may be already in the state of development through people participation and active government involvement to make the ocean view economic flourish. The government has planned to provide subsidies in terms of capital and lands to various business groups in order to establish new business organization. The government may have a plan to provide discounts in tax revenues in order to make Ocean view business hub. Through the manufacture of new products, the Ocean view may become independent with other cities and start to consume their own products which skyrocketed its economy through the consumption of products in its own localized market or selling of products outside its territory. As new people immigrates inside the Ocean view for the new jobs, they pay taxes for doing jobs as well as living purposes. Thus, the given argument lacks evidences in order to support its conclusion.

Moreover, the arguer claims that tourism in Ocean view has increased and new businesses have opened up during the past two years. It may be the case that Ocean view has many tourist destinations as well as hill stations to attract more tourists. Previously, there may be few lodges in Ocean view as a result the tourists may hesitate to spend night there and may cancel the plan to visit there. It may be possible that the road conditions are poor in the past which prevent tourist to visit there due to risk of their life. With the improvement of road conditions and establishment of new hotels, the tourist may enjoy the night view in Ocean view and other tourist destinations. In order to make the given argument valid, the arguer should support this argument with the proper reasoning why the tourism in Ocean view has increased in the past two year.

Furthermore, the arguer claims to establish similar golf course and resort hotel in Hopewell in order to make Hopewell economy flourish. It may be possible that the Hopewell lies in low plain which makes difficult to build golf course. It may be possible that the surrounding temperature of Hopewell is high enough for tourist to enjoy golf course. It may be possible that there are no such tourist destinations inside Hopewell in order to attract more tourists. Thus, the establishment of new hotel will even more exaggerate the economy of Hopewell. It may be possible that the geography and demography of Hopewell is different in comparison to Ocean view in order to implement similar plan as that of Ocean view.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of unwarranted flaws. In order to make argument valid, it should be supported with evidences in the form of systematic format such that the mayor of Hopewell is able to build similar golf course and hotel inside Hopewell in order to improve Hopewell economy and generate additional tax revenue.