The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument explains the letter that was published under the editorial section of the Balmer Island Gazette by stating that the population of the Balmer island increases during the summer seasson. The city wants to reduce the number of accidents of mopeds and pedestrains in the Island by reducing the number of rented moped's from 50 to 30 per day during summer season. There are six companies that rents the mopeds in the Island. Previous year, the same method had been implemented by Torseau and accidents were declined by 50 percent. Therefore, the author believes that similar reduction will happen in Balmer Islands too. Although the author has tried to cover as much facts regarding the issue but there is no clarity in some of those facts. These can be easily raised to an assumption that are explained in the essay.

Firstly, the population of the Balmer island is known. There is no information regarding how much population used to increase in Torseau during summer season. Also, there is no data regarding whether the population used to increase in Torseau or not. There might be a possibilty that a lot of tourists come to stay in Balmer island and for the commutation in the islands they might need mopeds. If there would be not enough mopeds then it might have different consequence on the economy of the island which might not be a concern for Torseau.

Secondly, the author has not presented any reason for why accidents were taking place. One assumption that can be made here that reasons of accidents in both of the islands is different than each other. If the drivers in Balmer islands do rash driving then declining the number of mopeds would not be enough to reduce the accidents. Also, the moral ethics is associated with the accidents as drivers might not give much attention to what is happening to other people or one assumption can also be made that pedestrains are not following the rules made by the government. Either way, by reducing the number of mopeds is not a goof solution for Balmer island.

Thirdly, there is also no information regarding how many mopeds' renting companies are present in Torseau. If there are only two companies that rents the mopeds then by reducing the number of mopeds would not make a huge change, but if there are more than 10 companies that rent the mopeds and due to which number of accidents have been reduced matters a lot. Therefore, due to the absence of the pellucidity in the information provided it is difficult to assume that the same implementation in Balmer island would have the same repercussions or not.

Lastly, I would like to end the essay by stating that information presented by the author is not viable enough so that the condition of the two different places could be easily compared and a conclusion would have been obtained.