To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is made up by the people who live in it. Every society will definitely have its both positivity and negativity that are juxtaposited together in a manner in which there are certain places where positivity will rule out the negative side of a place and vice versa. Most of the government of the countries focuses more attention on the major cities as maximum business and economy is generated by these but this does not mean that the small cities should be ruled out by these as the agricultural and cultural business is the boon of such places only. Therefore, I do support that to understand the vital and crucial characteristics of a society, one must focus their attention on the major cities as well minor cities.

The countries which are developing such as India, a person can easily notice that most of the development is done in the major cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore and so on. This is due to the reason that every year a lot of people are migrated from their villages in search of work and thus contribute towards the better society of tomorrow. The changes that are seen within a decade is tremendous that if a person would visit the place after years would not be able to recognize the map of the major cities. That is the amount of attention is given by the government to such places. As most of the political events, news coverage is done in these big cities only that is why focus on these places is greater than any other place. However, one would draw a wrong interpretation that the whole country is leading to the path of success which can be proven wrong too.

The major cities are also responsible towards for the entertainment and fashion industry that can easily fool the eye of the person who would only study these. As a lot of business is generated by these industries a person can easily mesaure the power of the state compared at the global level. But it is also interesting to note that most of the traditionality of the country is behold by the people who are far away from the light of glamor and only generate that amount of revenue which is enough to satisfy their quench for food. They consist the originality of the native people and harbingers the creativity in their minds and soul. Henceforth, it can be concluded that where on the one hand major cities shows the modernization, on the other hand outskirts of the cities will restore the congenital artwork.

Lastly, I would like to end my note by stating that yes, major cities does play a lot of part in contributing the characterstics of a society be at economical level, or business or the modernization and technical advancements in the field of space, computer science to name a few but minor places of a country has the similar impact in the society that might had been masquerade by the non stop change in the society. In my opinion, it would not be always right to only consider the major cities or minor ones but rather a synthesis of the both aspect is necessary to define the characterstics of a society.