The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of co-education, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation, it is given that the faculty and administration staff want to remove the century-old tradition of the Grove institution of all-female education by admitting male students into the programs. But the survey conducted by the student government states that 80 percent of the students do not want coeducation. Moreover, the same questions were asked from the alumnae, and half of them who replied were in favor of the decision of the student government. Hence, the administrative staff eradicated the thought of coeducation as it will boost the morale of the current studying students. Although the information provided concerns both of the faculty and student mindset, there are certain data which can not be considered as true and assumptions can be made. Therefore, such assumptions are presented in the essay.

Firstly, the information provided in the argument statement states that a survey was considered by the student government. There is no information regarding how many students from the institution filled the form and also at what time of the year the survey was conducted. If it might have been done during vacation times, it is a possibility that less number of students filled the form. Moreover, what if hardly ten students filled the form? Then, any conclusion can not be made from the result of the survey. Hence due to the absence of elucidity in the information about how many students filled the form, any conclusion can not be drawn.

Secondly, the statements also talks about the answers given by the alumni. There is also no information that provided adequate data about them. What was the graduating year of the alumni? and How many alumni were called and the number of alumni who responded? By only stating that fifty percent of the alumni do not support coeducation would definitely not give any proper conclusion to the statement.

Thirdly, as the suggestions regarding coeducation were asked from the faculty members also, the statement states that the majority were in support. Again, the author has failed to identify how many faculty members the questions were asked. Were all of the departmental faculty included or only suggestions were asked from a handful of them? Henceforth, due to the dearth of numeric information provided by the author, it is difficult to determine whether the results obtained from both of the sides of faculty and students should be considered as true or not.

Lastly, I would say that information provided by the author might be considered as a true but clear conclusion can not be drawn from the argument. If there had been pellucidity regarding the numbers of faculty, students participated for the suggestion then the conclusion would have been drawn.