"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the statement states that the Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than another nearby industry plant where workers' working hours is one less than Quiot Manufacturing. Moreover, due to more working hours there is a tendency of fatigue and sleep deprivation amongst workers. Hence, the author suggests that to decrease the quantity of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and to increase the productivity, three work shifts should be shorten by one hour so that employees would get enough rest. Although, the author has tried to provide the sufficent information on his/her side but has not provided any numeric data to strengthen his/her support. Also, the enviorment inside the factories is not discussed in the statement. Therefore, assumptions can be made that are discussed in the following essay.

Firstly, the author has not provided any information regarding what are the conditions of the industry. One might say the increased number of accidents are because there are not enough safety equipments adopted in the Quiot industry than Panoply. Moreover, it might be possible that workers in the Quiot are required to work with heavy machinery and company has not taken safety measurement steps so that lives of the workers can be saved. Henceforth, the details should be completely specified by the the author so that an answer could be found.

Secondly, the author has only mentioned the percentage difference in the number of accidents in the industries. The number of the workers employed in the company is not known. For example, if there are 100 workers in the Panoply Industries plant who met with on-the-job accidents last year, then the number of accidents in Quiot Industries is not more than 130 workers. In that case both of the industries might want to take actions regarding this issue. But if the number of workers are in thousands then the difference would not be that much big. Therefore, by not providing quantifiability of the workers in the field it is difficult to stand correct at the statement of the author.

Thrirdly, author has not mentioned when was the last time when the equipments were changed in both of the industries. Also, there is also no details regarding whether workers are trained for the jobs that they are doing. If any of the requirements are not fulfilled by the workers of the Quiot industries then it might also lead to the answer to why number of accidents are increasing. As the author has only focused the statement on the working hours the other factors might get missed. Therefore, unless those factors are not addressed it might not be possible to reach the answer.

Lastly, it might be possible that the concern put up by the author is true and stand correct till a certain level but the author has not given much attention to detail

related to the conditions of the industry that might lead to the solution of the problem.