Claim: An piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A fact can be determined by the people as a piece of information that is shared in society and is considered as true. The statement states that as fact can be falsified in any minute by any person then the fact should not be trusted. But what is the guarantee that the fact which is falsified by another new fact can not be itself falsified in the future? Then, it will not be possible to assume any information as true. This can convolute the researchers as they would not be able to prove any theory as no fact would be considered as true. Therefore, I am almost not in complete support of the claim that information considered as fact should be mistrusted.

Initially, there are universal facts that are ubiquitous and known to everyone. There are a plethora of examples that can falsify the statement such as - the shape of Earth is round, the waxing and waning of the moon due to the shadow of Earth and everyone also knows that sun rises in the morning and sets in the evening. The reason given in the issue states that much of the information that people assume is factual turns out to be inaccurate. But the reason does not stands true for the instances given as they are true and could never be stated as false.

Secondly, there have been occurrences in the history of science if people had not considered it as true, as a fact, then we might not be studying a lot of laws and formulas of mathematics. When Aryabhatta invented zero, if people had negated his invention and considered false as it could be easily changed in the near future then, we would not be able to do any research in mathematics related to imaginary numbers, integers and what not.

Thirdly, for certain instances, the claim can be easily supported. The information and the news that are reported by the journalists, media channels, we do not know whether it is correct or not. Any high profile controversial suicide case can be fabricated and reported as a murder and shown to laypersons and they might consider it as a fact. For such cases where fallacy can be predicted or found at any time it would be wrong to call a piece of information as a fact as it can be a sham too.

Lastly, the statement might be true for certain domain but can be easily negated for others. It is viable to first see from which domain information is being captured - whether it can be considered as a fact or just an information.