"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

In the argument, the author is depicting the contrast of the money spent on the funds for public schools of two different cities - Parson and Blue which belong to the same region Trillura. The statement further states that even though both as the proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson city had been recently spending twice as much per year as Blue city spends for its public schools. Therefore, the author has concluded his statement that Parson city gives more attention to provide better education than Blue residents. Yet there are certain flaws and schisms in the statement that are not completely mentioned by the author which makes it difficult to end the note in the favor of the author.

Firstly, the author has not mentioned about how the rest of the tax was contributed towards the betterment of the residents. Also, the author has also failed to mention any data of previous years. There can be a possibility that prior to recent years Blue city had contributed towards its public schools and the results of the students might have inclined. As we do not know anything about the previous years segregation of the tax between the two cities it is hard to conclude whether which city contribute more towards the education sector.

Secondly, the author has not presented any information regarding the distribution of the population between the two cities. If the ratio of students in Blue City is less than in the comparison to that of Parson city then it is viable enough to understand the tax distribution in the Blue City. It can also be assumed that the quality of education was declining in Parson City hence, more bent in the eduction sector.

Thirdly, the implicit factors that contribute towards the education sector are not discussed by the author. There is no information regarding the connectivity of the roads and highways that would increase the admits of non-residents admits in the school. One assumption can be made that the rents and connectivity of the Blue City is not good as that of Parson City and hence the foreign students were coming in the Parson city for education. This can also lead to the reason of why more money was being spent in the education sector in Parson City.

Lastly, I would like to end my note by concluding that based on the facts and information provided by the author it is arduous to assume whether Parson City place a higher value on education or not. The argument can be easily twisted in the favor of Blue city residents and other factors too.