According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However,

Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a

system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In the argument, the author has been talking about how the process of cheating has been reduced through the introduction of the honor code that says that if a student finds other classmates cheating in their academic endeavors then they are supposed to tell this to their faculty. Due to the implementation of this honor code system, the author has stated that the number of the average cases in a year has declined from thirty to fourteen cases in five years. Subsequently, the author suggests all colleges and universities to adopt this method similar to Groveton's to reduce the cheating amongst students. It is important to note here that the author has mentioned about the system but have not told what were the exact methods of implementation of the process. There are a certain number of faults that can be found in this argument. Therefore, I am not in complete support of the argument presented by the author.

Firstly, the author has claimed that the number of cases has significantly declined in five years. A possibility can be pointed out in this statement that what if the staff of the teachers was changed in this period and they had not been enlightened by the honor code completely and therefore did not monitored the students precisely as described in the honor code. Moreover, what if the level of corruption among the students and teachers have inclined and so the teachers stopped reporting the students that bribed them. Therefore, it is onerous to consider that the cases have decreased genuinely.

Secondly, the author has not mentioned how the admission process was affected due to this program and also what had happened with those students who were found guilty of the notion of cheating. It might have happened that due to the fear of getting expelled or punished once found guilty less number of students wanted to take admission in the college and in respect of that the reported cases were the same but looked as if they are declining.

Thirdly, the reputation of any college along with the overall score is also vital. The author has not mentioned whether the reputation of the college was decreased or increased by the implementation of the honor code. It might be a possibility that the rank of the college was decreasing due to the report of the several students being charged with cheating, to overcome this the teachers of the college might have decided to report as less number of students as possible. Maybe teachers were strict in the initial stages of the program but with time the enthusiasm of the teachers might have been lowered and then become lenient. Hence, there is ambiguity in taking into account whether the method is implemented correctly or not.

Lastly, I would end my note here by saying that by presenting a certain number of facts externally and not focusing on the internal matters of what and how to lead to different changes it is difficult to conclude a point that whether the report is right or wrong. The same can be concluded for this argument.