The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The information that is presented in the memo states that the chain of cheese stores used to store both imported and domestic cheese for their buyers. However, last year, all of the five best-selling cheeses at the newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses. Moreover, a survey conducted by the Cheeses of the World magazine states that the subscribers have bent their interest in the domestic cheeses more. As the company wants to increase their profits, they wish to reduce thier imported cheese inventory and discontinue the stocking many of the variety of imported cheese. The author, has pointed out the relevant facts in the memo but it does not include any number, percentage so that the data could be compared. Therefore, several assumptions can be made from the memo that are presented in the essay below.

Firstly, the author has pointed out the sales of only one of the many stores from the country. It might be possible that as the store was new thus, people did not wish to spend more money on imported cheese. Also, there is no data of the other stores that are present in the country. If all of the stores have imported cheese as their best-selling product then the statement would not support this. Therefore, the information given by the author leads to the ambiguity regarding the sales of the cheese in the stores.

Secondly, a survey has been conducted by the Cheeses of the World magazine. The author has not provided any numeric data in support of the statement. For instance, it might be possible that only 1000 people took part in the survey and 600 out of which favored domestic cheese than imported one. Then this data will not provide any specific direction to the statement. On the other hand if more than a million people participated in the survey then the results might affect the population at large. Hence, survey too does not give any specific answer.

Thirdly, the author has not provided any information what would happen if suddenly all of the imported cheese will be discontinued from the stores. If the percentage of people buying imported cheese is more then the profits from these cheeses might be higher than that of domestic cheese. Author, has not provided any data regarding how much sales of the cheeses might get affected. It is also possible that imported cheese might not be best-selling but they might bring more profit to the stores due to their increased price. Therefore, it would be wrong to state that by discontinuing the imported cheese, the profits will increase.

Lastly, the author has tried his/her best to point the details due to which the profit is increased but has failed to give any numeric data due to which results could be obtained vividly.