The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument the author has put up a point that a nearby town of Ocean View had built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel two years ago. In these two years, the tourism sector of Ocean view had proliferated, businesses were opened and moreover tax revenues were risen by 30 percent. Therefore, according to the author, same amendments should be done in Hopewell so that that economy will be inclined. Author has put up the points where changes of other town is discussed but has missed clarity regarding Hopewell town. Therefore, distinct assumptions can be devised from the argument that are discussed in the essay.

Firstly, the author has presented the changes done in the nearby town of Ocean View but has not given any facts or evidences regarding what has been done by the Hopewell town. Whether the economy of Hopewell is less or greater than Ocean View? Why author has only provided the tracks of the Ocean View and not any other town? A lot of questions can be raised for the town of Hopewell. There is also not a guarantee of whether after building golf course and resort the economy of Hopewill will increase or not.

Secondly, the author only talked about the constructions inside the town but has never discussed a point related to connectivity. One assumption can be applied that the reason why the tourism has increased in Ocean View is that they have all the facilities of an airport(both national and inernational), railway stations, better highways and tourism spots too. This is not necessary that all of these are present in Hopewell too. Therefore, it would be wrong to say that economy of Hopewell will definitely boost up.

Thirdly, the author has considered the case of tourism only. There are other sectors that invloves in the economy sectors such as jobs, education, health care facilities etcetra. None of these are presented by the author. By any means, it is not necessary that if one town has invested in one particular sector it is justifiable by other town to do the same.

Lastly, although the author has provided valid statements they can not be summarised similarly for another town. There is always going to be the positive and negative impact. Therefore, it is not necessary by doing the same construcions predicted results would be obtained.