An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Doctors spend most of their lifetime in saving the lives of other people whom they might have never met and would not meet certainly after they become well. But whenever a patient is in need of a doctor, they will make sure that they do their best to save the life of the patient. By providing ailing patients the access to the doctors's record of treating similarly affected patients can have its both pros and cons. Therefore, the essay is not in complete support of the statement that through such easy access, the ailing patient may determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Firsly, the ailing patient's condition should not be this much dreadful that they would not be able to find the crux of the doctor's record. Moreover, diseases like cancer, heart surgeries, accidents are not the kind in which the patient would be able to do anything. At that particular point of time the presense of doctor is more than enough for them. Hence, allowing access to doctor's record history of treatment whould not be appropriate at all conditions.

Secondly, the privacy of the record history of treatment would be sabotaged completely as the evidences can be used against doctors also. It may happen that some people take the roads of sophistry to become the patient to have the access of records for the sole purpose of taking revenge against the doctors. Henceforth, the health department would have to become more attentive in order to apply the issue into the system, even then there is no guarantee of the safety of the records.

Thirdly, by giving access to the prior treatments the fees of the doctors would definitely increase that will have the direct affect on the billings of the patient. Also, there may come times when the patient might not be able to understand the technicalities of the terms and indulge herself/himself with the records so much that the condition of the patient might worsen. Therefore, certain time limit should be applied if this comes into practice otherwise the life of patient can be caught in danger.

Although the issue might have several drawbacks it also comes with the advantages with constraints that if the patient have time they will have the satisfcation that there treatment is being done by a viable doctor. But the implemention of this issue might take years to get perfection or might fail which would be a complete waste of time and money. Hence, in my opinion access of doctor's records should not be given to the patients.