"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled

their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic.

Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it.

Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane

would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

The argument presented in the local newspaper says that rush hour traffic has increased in Blue Highway due to which the commuting time to the office has profligated to almost twice. One favored proposal states that there is a need to add another lane in the highway so that traffic might reduce. On the other hand opponents noted that same solution was opted for the Green Highway last year that has only worsened the situation. Opponents are suggesting that bicycle lane should be added as there are bicycle enthusiasts in the related area so that certain traffic will be shifted to another lane hence providing the solution to the problem. The factors such as the connectivity of the highway, distance from suburb to the city has not been mentioned in the argument due to which it is difficult to reach to the conclusion that whether opponents are right or wrong.

Firstly, I would like to point out to the issue that has been ignored by the opponents which is regarding the age group of the keen bicyclists. There is a probability that only teenagers or children might be interested in riding a bicycle and the parents who commute between the city and suburbs are not into bicycling. No records or data have been presented so that this situation would not be leading to such skeptical conditions. Therefore, by not providing the information the argument of the opponents can not be considered significant.

Secondly, the favored proposal that has been presented talks about adding another lane to the highway. We do not know when was the last time the highway was repaired or another lane had been added. Also, the argument does not tell the distance between the suburb and the city through Blue Highway. Is the distance pertinent enough so

that people will not have any physical issues by riding bicycle from one place to another? Henceforth, it becomes hard to consider whether adding bicycle lane is right or not.

Thirdly, opponents has used the instance of Green Highway by saying that by the addition of another lane the traffic has been worsened. This gives rise to the possibility that Green Highway can be more busier than that of Blue Highway. It might be possible that traffic from another suburbs and cities are added into the Green Highway that is why the Highway is more busier than ever. Hence, it proves that the same can not stand true for Blue Highway that has been proved true for Green.

Lastly, I would like to end my argument by saying that the author has tried to cover the ideas of the favored and opponent solutions regarding the increasing traffic in the Blue Highway but has not given enough sample data or information that can be used for the conclusion whether which one is more relevent.