Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has discussed about the two distinct studies that are performed on Tertian culture by two different doctors Dr. Field and Dr. Karp. Dr. Field had performed his study twenty years ago and recorded data by observing the actions of the children and the Tertian people and concluded that the raising of the child is majorly done by the Tertian people altogether. On another hand Dr. Karp did his study only recently through a diffrerent format that involved the interview with the children of the Tertain society and found that children were talking more about their biological parents. The study performed by the doctors were on different time and by different methods which leads to a ambigous conclusion in deciding which one is right. Therefore, I am not in favor with the auhor's conclusion that future research should be performed via the interview-centered method.

Firstly, I would like to draw the attention on the fact that there is a major gap of two decades in the research done by both the Doctors. A lot can change in twenty years even the rearing method of a child. There can be a possibility that suggests that when Dr. Field might had done his research when the entire village used to show interest in the rearing of a child. Something tragic mishap would have been occurred due to which this metod was shifted towards the rearing of the child by his/her biological parents only. And coincidently, Dr. Karp would have been arrived during this time and hence interviewing the children gave him different results. This led to the conclusion that both of the studies could or could not be correct.

Secondly, the research method performed by the Dr. Karp can be molded by the interviewee. Maybe Tertian people are not likely to reveal the teaching methods of their children as they are the face of the next generation or they would not like other people to know the other personal rituals performed by the Tertian people. Therefore, they would have asked children to talk about their parents more than talking about the village so that no other information could be exposed by the children. Moreover, it also a possibility that if the doctor would have taken observation alongside the interviews then the different results could have obtained.

Additionally, the author has given no context about the reality of the Tertian people. Every thing which is researched by the doctors is conveyed in the argument. There is not any guarantee regarding the accuracy in the studies presented by both the doctors. It is also possible that both of them have recorded ambiguous data or might one of them have. It is hard to say which one of them is right.

Therefore, I conclude the argument by stating that just because Dr. Karp had performed his study recently it does not mean that the previous studies are of no use now and only the interview methodology should be taken into considerations by other anthropologists. The studies performed by Dr. Field could be right too and hence research could be performed through his method too.