Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia Using an observation centered approach to studying Tertian culture he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by the

In the article written by Dr. Karp, it is said that using the interview-centered method to study cultures, the anthropologist’s team has found out that children in Tertia spend much more time discussing their biological parents than other dwellers of the village. According to him, these interviews nullify the value and veracity of the previous observation conducted by Dr. Field, who stated the opposite, and make his observation-centered approach nugatory. However, the anthropologist’s contention, as it currently stands, rests on three unwarranted assumptions that currently render it invalid.

First of all, Dr. Karp said that his interviews had been conducted in the group of islands that includes Tertia, whilst Dr. Field had visited and observed one particular island of Tertia, which makes his observations more accurate. There is the possibility that the culture of the island of Tertia is significantly different from that of other islands in the group. In this case, it is possible that this group includes a huge number of islands where children spend their time mostly talking about their parents than about other adults, as opposed to Tertia where the situation may be the opposite, making the responses of the children of the island of Tertia a small minority. If this is the case, then the conclusion drawn by the author is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author prematurely assumes that if children talk a lot about their biological parents, then these kids were reared by them. Nevertheless, this may not be the case. Perhaps they were abandoned by their parents and feel hatred and resentment towards them, and these strong negative feelings force children to think a lot about their parents. It is also possible that they do not even know and remember them, so they discuss with curiosity what they look like or who their parents are. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that Dr. Field’s conclusion about children in Tertia is invalid does not hold water.

Finally, no information is provided about the number of children interviewed. For example, maybe the anthropologist interviewed only a few children in Tertia. While it can be true that these few children were raised by their parents, no conclusion can be drawn about other children on the island. In other words, if a few interviewed kids were reared by their parents, this does not necessarily mean that this information is true for the majority of children in Tertia. Dr. Karp should provide information about the scope of his interview-centered approach that was conducted in Tertia; otherwise, his whole argument falls apart.

To conclude, the argument is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unfounded assumptions. Dr. Karp needs to substantiate his claim with more evidence so that it can be proved that his interview-centered approach is more accurate and reliable than the observation-centered approach.