Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Dr. Karp had studied Dr. Field’s observation that the children of Tertia are reared by the village instead of their biological parents. Therefore Dr. Karp had visited the Tertia along with the group of islands and his study concluded that Dr. Field observations were wrong. Therefore, Dr.Karp has recommended further study to get correct details on child-rearing in Tertia. However, before granting permission for further studies there are few questions that need to be answered.

Firstly, Is the lifestyle and culture of people in Tertia the same as 20 years ago? Aren't the children whom Dr. Field observed are adults now? Dr. Field had observed the culture in Tertia 20 years ago and Dr. Karp had carried his studies recently. There is a gap of two decades in their studies. The speed with which modernization is pacing their must be a huge cultural difference between the lives of people in Tertia then and now. Moreover, 20 years ago Tertia was an under-developed village island and now Tertia has developed into an urban city. The two studies should be compared on equal ground, where there is a gap of 20 years means there might be a lot of changes. If the above assumptions have merits then it may be difficult to have to grant further research.

Furthermore, Is the research approach the same to compare two theories? Can we compare two theories, one which is based on observation and the other based on interactive sessions? Dr.Filed's conclusion was based on an observation-centered approach, which means Dr. Field had just observed the lives of people and concluded that children are not reared by their parents. Dr. Field had analyzed only the half picture, he never interacted with the people of Tertia. It might also be the possibility that Tertia children are actually reared by their parents, just the population of Tertia look younger than their actual age. While, Dr, Karp has adapted interview- centered approach, what questions did Dr. Karp ask in an interview? Were the questions direct or indirect means were the children promptly asked who render them? There are insufficient details and also both approaches are different to decide whether further studies are required or not.

In conclusion, the above argument is flawed. It has a few unwarranted assumptions which need to be answered before deciding the arguments further scope. If the answers to the above questions are satisfactory then further studies to obtain accurate details on Tertian child-rearing might be taken into consideration.