"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

An article in the local newsletter of the Southwestern state mentions that recently in Happy Pancake House restaurants replaced butter with margarine. It also asserts that this change had very little impact on the customers, only 2% of the customers have complained till date. It also mentions that people are not complaining if they get margarine instead of butter due to either of the two reasons. First, People cannot distinguish between butter and margarine, or Southwestern people use margarine and butter terms alternatively. However, before directly concluding we must also consider other possibilities.

Firstly, Margarine might be costlier than butter. Butter is found in every household and it is used in almost every recipe. It is the natural tendency of people to happily accept whatever they get in complementary. Here, People are getting Margarine at the price of butter so they are pleased and are not complaining. Furthermore, Margarine is costly and not consumed daily so when people get Margarine occasionally they enjoy it and hence do not ask for butter. If the above assumption has merits it can be considered as one of the reasons for people not complaining when given Margarine.

Secondly, Margarine tastes crunchy and smooth as compared to butter. It has a crunchy texture which makes it distinguishable from butter. When consumed one can experience the crunchiness of Margarine. Moreover, Margarine comes in flavors and so it has fragrance while butter does not have a smell. So one can easily distinguish between Margarine and butter. It is the taste and smell of Margarine that customers like and do not complain when they are served Margarine.

Furthermore, Nutritionist mentions that Margarine has many health benefits and promotes weight loss. Butter has cholesterol and harmful to the body. People when served Margarine knowing the health benefits of Margarine they do not complain. People think in a way, they are consuming healthy food. Nowadays Many nutritionists are replacing butter with Margarine.

The article asserts that only 2 percent of people have complained about Margarine. However, one must also know that the Happy Pancake House restaurants chain in the southwestern states is not as famous as it is in the North. In southwestern, there are many alternatives and high competing restaurants to Happy Pancake. Moreover, The southwestern chain is at a great loss as it has hardly 10 customers per day. So, 2 percent accounts for a great number of customers. For example, if there are 50 people, 4 people complain about Margarine. It might also be possible other people do not complain this time but next time they will go to some other restaurant. If the above assumption holds water then it may be a reason for people's response to Margarine.

Thus before coming to the conclusion, one must consider the above assumptions. If any of the above assumptions are plausible it can be considered as a rival to the proposed explanation.