Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

With the unprecedented growth in technology, the quality of education has also been increased tremendously around the globe. Since the last decade there has been a big competition all around the world in terms of education and growth. Every nation is trying to give a tough competition to each other. In this scenario, if college and university students are given a chance to spend at least a semester in another country, this can be a great advantage to the student as well as the country. Thus, I almost agree with the premise that students must be given a chance to study in another country for the below reasons. However, I do concede that there a few scenarios in which the above premise does not hold water.

Firstly, Sending university or college students to another country for study will be advantageous because it will help in the personality development of the student. Students going out for study will help them to go out of their comfort zone and explore many new things. If a student moves out, they will learn to adjust in new surroundings, interact with new people, learn about their culture and adapt their culture. For example, there is a student who lacks confidence and went out to study after coming back that student definitely will be more confident. Moreover, Many schools organize a student exchange program knowing its' benefits on students' personalities. Thus, there should be a student exchange program in the school and university as a part of the personality development exercise.

Secondly, Studying in another country for at least a month will with help improving the teaching practice of a country, which can eventually help students with a good understanding of concepts. For instance, a student after coming from a foreign exchange program can share experience and also suggest some measures to implement in school. For example, Informal Education was not implemented in India until they saw other countries are implementing informal education and it is truly helping in improving teaching practice and students’ understanding.

Lastly, Spending a semester in a foreign country can add be a bit expensive for a student or for the country's educational budget system. It would be difficult to send the majority of the students. However, spending at least a semester in a foreign country will undoubtedly beneficial for the student as well as to the college or university.