Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the newsletter of the KICK radio station, it has been stated that the station manager of Medway has suggested increasing the call-in advice programs to increase the number of audiences. The manager has got this idea from the success of the call-in advice program of the WCQP radio station in Rockville. However, before considering this suggestion, a few questions must be answered.

Firstly, Can the listening area in Rockville and Medway are comparable? In other words, can the audience lives and interests of Rockville and Medway compared? It might be possible that People of Medway not much interested in radio call-in advice than people of Rockville. As Medway population mostly consist of IT people who are busy working on their deadlines and hardly get time to listen to the radio. While, People in Rockville comprises of graduate students who have time to listen to the radio and can try to use the call-in facility for advice. Furthermore, Medway is not as densely populated as Rockville. Medway is just 30% of Rockville's population which shows it is difficult to attract more audience. If either of these assumptions has merits then it may be difficult to have a large audience in the Medway listening area.

Secondly, Does the nationwide survey include people of all age groups? Are adults interested in call-in advice programs? Usually, calling advice programming is used by teenagers or graduate students. These people are going to adolescence and do not have proper guidance and seek some programs or online help. And it seems the call-in advice program generally gives relationship advice and students are mostly attracted to call-in functionality than adults. If the above assumption is true it will hardly attract people of the elder age group.

Lastly, What would be the timing of the call-in program? Rockville runs a call-in program in the evening from 6 pm to 7 pm as at this time students mostly hang out with friends and discuss their problems and seek help. But, At this time Medway has its most famous celebrity program which might be difficult to compromise for new call-in advice programs which may have a few risks. If this scenario holds true then the conclusion drawn in the original argument might be weakened.

In conclusion, the recommendation to include more call-in advice programs has a few flaws due to some unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to answer and provide a few pieces of evidence for the above questions then it will be helpful to consider including more call-in advice programs.