To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The important characteristic of society are social culture, economical culture, traditions which depicts characteristics of society like togetherness, selflessness, cooperation, unity in diversity . To study the eclectic culture it is not necessary to study major cities, it can be understood by the countries' rural areas too. Below are the reasons which explain how important characteristic of a society can be studied from various sources.

Firstly, the rural area of a country conceal a wide variety of culture. In fact, the traditional culture are originated followed passionately in rural areas compared to urban cities. For instance, in India, which is known for it's diversity in culture celebrate all the festival with zeal, and shows characteristic of society, for example 'Ganpati' festival is celebrated with vigour, and the main reason behind this festival is social gathering. People can stay connect , share their sorrows. During this festival urban people take a break from their work and go to village to celebrate it. This shows characteristic of togetherness can be studied through rural area.

Secondly, urban cities are moving towards modernization ,from modernization the trend of nuclear family commenced. In olden days, the people of a family used to stay together. Staying together teaches values of sharing, compromising for other's happiness, quality of selflessness. While nuclear family fails to teach such values. For example , a kid raised in nuclear family is somewhat stubborn demanding while a kid in joint family is taught to share it’s toys with all the kids.

Lastly, In urban cities there is a race to earn money, forgetting to contribute to the society. Example, In rural area follows 'Panchayat system' , in which there is a chief person of the village who takes all the important decision regarding village. But, panchayat system involves inputs of the members of the village. This sense of working together develops co-operation between people of the society. For instance, There is a marriage occasion in a family. All the members of the village will together and help considering own family. This shows the feeling of oneness.

In conclusion, urban city belies happiness, togetherness but to study the real essence of the society one should study rural life , it has almost all the characteristic which a society needs.