In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

According to the latest survey, Residents of Mason had ranked water sports among their favourite recreational activity. Recently, In the Mason Times, it is stated that the state has declared to clean Mason River as it was contaminated. As the government is cleaning up and people are planning to use Mason river for recreational purpose and may demand funds for recreational purpose. However, there are few implications setting the river as a recreational purpose and to increase the budget.

Can the river water be used for drinking purpose along with water sports? Won't the people's activities will pollute the river? Currently, Mason river water is not used for drinking. But, Sometimes Mason faces high temperature in summer which causes scarcity of water. During such consequences, it can be used as a source of water supply. Water sports contaminate the river water and make unfit for drinking. if Mason is used for water sports, then it may be unsafe for consumption.

Will water sports earn enough profits for maintenance? Are the people of Mason of wealthy enough to spend on recreational activities more often? Is Mason a tourist spot? People usually go to recreational places on weekends or holidays. If the river is used for swimming, it needs utmost care, which involves a huge budget. If the recreational place has low numbers of visitor and needs high amount for infrastructure, it might be a great loss to the state.

Cleaning the river will assure it will stink or its water quality will improve? For years, people have been complaining about water quality and bad odour. There can be a possibility, the river has some pernicious water creature which spreads bad odour or harms the water quality of the river. After cleaning the river, the bad odour may persist which may impact the number of visitors. Furthermore, People swimming in the river may get some skin infection due to its water quality. If the water quality improves and it is possible to eradicate the odour, then the recreational spot may be constructed.

In conclusion, the argument has various implications due to its dependency on some unwarranted assumptions. If there is a way to overcome the above implications and provide more evidence, then it is viable to propose increase budget to riverside recreational facilities.