Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people, when they go to a new place, they make new friends and easily forget the old ones. However, I believe that staying in touch with old friends is more important than making new friends for the following three reasons.

First of all, being in contact with old friends is necassary because the longer the friendship, the stronger is the bond. Friendship of many years passes through a lot of thicks and thins and it has sustained. So, a person knows thata friend is there to support and help forever. For example, My cousin Priya and her Riya are best friends since kindergarden. I have seen all the phases of their friendship, from fights to caring and sacrificing for each other. Riya knows that she got Priya's back and they are always there for each other irrespective of the situation. Thus, old friends share unbreakable bond.

Secondly, old friends are the one who knows better than one knows themselves and will help you in decision making. For example, During my undergraduate admission, I was confused between two cities and couldn't decide where I should move. At that time I took my childhood friend's help. She helped me by stating all the pros and cons as per my trait and I was able to decide. Thus, an old friend knows all your triats and guides you better.

Lastly, old friends are your best secret keeper. Since, you and your friend know everything about each other even the deadliest sins and must not have told to anyone is the reason for long lasting friendship. For instance, my best friend had passed her enterance test by asking someone else to take the test for her. I am the only person who knows about this sin. My freind said this secret to me as she trusts me. If I would have told this secret to someone than our friendship would have lasted. Therefore, if you want a permanent secret keeper, you should stay in touch with your old friends.