The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

In the petition it is written that the Smith Corporation should not be allowed to develop anything on the land which originally belongs to the Youngtown Wildelife Preserve. They says that if the land is sold to the Smith Corporation then it will have adverse affect on the flora and fauna of the Preserve. The Smith Corporation is planning to open a hotel for tourists who would visit the preserve to see the maginificent bird population of the Youngtown Wildelife Preserve. Although the allegations of the petition might be true but there is no proper evidences provided that will gain a favor in support of the petition. Hence, the argument is based on numerous assumptions that are discussed in the essay.

Firsly, in the petition it is written that by opening a hotel it would hinder the equilibrium of the area but it is not thoroughly mentioned that what are the actual adverse effects. Also, there is no previous records or evidences against the Smith Corporation that will help the protection group to have a soild point against them. Just by merely stating agains the Corporation would not help the production group to succeed in having a positive affect of the petition.

Secondly, it is written in the petition that the construction of the hotel and the emergence of the touristis would not benefit the locals can be proved wrong. As it is always seen that near such places only the locals are hired as the employees. This will definitely bolster the lives of the people of the residents as their source of income might increase. Therefore, the hotel might help people to have a inclination towards a better life.

Thirdly, in the petition it is nowhere mentioned that how the construction of the hotel will result in the affliction of the preserve. Also, not a single previous records are given of such sanctuaries in which construction and tourism is made and it resulted negatively. Therefore, the environmental protection group has failed to mentioned the evidences at viable places where they were highly required.

In the end, I would end my essay by stating that it might be a certain probability that such changes will have negative affect on the wildelife but proper evidences are not presented and hence this dearth has resulted in focusing on the points that might have a positive turnout for the wildelife or the locals.