The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While some of the arguments presented by the environmental group appear to be logically coherent, the assumptions that lead to their conclusion are definitely not well-founded. The environmental group assumes that the development proposed by Smith Corporation will have a deteriorating effect on the sanctuary but they provide no verified facts or proven data to buttress their position. As such, their claims are definitely ones to be frowned upon.

First of all, one might wonder, what percentage of the land will the Smith Corporation acquire? This is a vital question that needs to be answered for coming to any viable conclusion about the safety of the sanctuary. The environmental group mentions that only a small percentage will be sold. If the percentage of the land to be sold is negligible compared to the total area of the sanctuary, then this should have much of an effect on the wildlife. However, if the portion of the land sold constitute a major section of the sanctuary then this definitely will have an adverse effect on the survival of wildlife. Hence, one must know the exact amount of land that is being sold in order to decide whether such acquisition will be detrimental or not.

Furthermore, the environmental group assumes that the proposed development will have horrible consequence but they fail to mention any such phenomenon. As the company is only trying to build a small hotel, what sort of environmental implications can such construction potentially have? Without knowing the full extent of the effects of the proposed constructions, it is implausible to arrive a definite conclusion. For example, the noise caused by the construction process may drive away the bird species that live in the area. This will definitely be a huge cause of concern among the residents of Young-town. However, if the company can control their construction noise so as not to disturb the bird habitats, then there seem to be no logical reason to deny such constructions.

Moreover, the Smith Corporation has also promised to ensure the safety of the sanctuary. Whether they can deliver on their promise is an important factor in determining the sale of the land. The people of Young-town will have to consider the reputation of the corporation when deciding on whether the corporation is trustworthy or not. Without knowing the history of the corporation's activities one can not determine whether they will indeed ensure the preservation of the sanctuary. For instance, the people of Young-town, may have witnessed other such development schemes implemented by the Smith Corporation where they have ensured proper environmental safety and precautions. In such case, the Young town people will decide in favor of the sale.

Taking all of these into account, we can conclude that although the concern of the environmental group is a valid one, the arguments presented by them are rife with holes and full of unsubstantiated assumptions.