The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument the author has explained the issue faced by the business manager of a television station. The news channel has stopped showing the daily updates for the weather updates and locale news and replaced it with national news. Further, he says that the viewers are affected by this sudden change as many complaints were inclined towards the same problem. So in order to provide solution the manager has said that to increase revenue and to avoid losing any viewership they should expand their coverage on the local weather news report. In this argument the author has not provided any numbers or figues associated with the whole problem. Therefore, there are number of assumptions that can depend on this argument.

Firstly, the author has failed to explain that how much percentage of viewers have been affected by the change. No figures have been presented so that a comparison can be done. There is a possibility that the complaints that are recieved are less compared to the people who do not have a problem with national news. For instance,let us suppose the viewers are more than one million and the total number of complaints received by the channel is in few thousands then it should not be a major problem. The argument also do not tell about the other complaints that were done by the viewers. Hence, it is not necessary that the viewers are affected only by this problem, there could be other reasons too or they might not be affected at all.

Secondly, the revenue generation of the news channel is not discussed by the author thoroughly. The author has just stated that the revenue has decreased but has not mentioned how much percentage of revenue generation is affected. If the revenue generation is a major problem faced by the company then only they should tackle this otherwise if it is not raising drastic change then it is not necessary that the coverage of the news should be changed.

Thirdly, the author has not mentioned the reason why the local news channel has stopped advertising with the channel. There is also no information regarding the amount of money that will be spent on finding new local news channel for the weather and local news coverage. What if the money spent on finding local channel will be greater than the revenue lost by the news company. Hence, this leads to the conclusion that considering this solution can also lead to the loss of the company.

Lastly, I would like to end my argument here by stating that by not presenting the enough pieces of evidence in the form of percentages, the number and figures it is difficult to conclude that the solution given by the author is correct or not. There can be plenty of different ways to address this issue. Henceforth, it would not be right to say that author's argument is correct.