Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The potential extinction of those endangered species may or may not solely resulted due to human activities. There may be some disruption in their habitat due to human encroachment resulting in their extinction whereas some are put in danger due to limited reproduction as well as natural calamities. Thus, I mostly agree to create environment to save endangered species by the society even if the potential reason of their extinction may not be the result of human activities.

Firstly, our greenery earth has global diversity ranging from 2 million to 1 trillion, out of which 1.74 million species have been database so far whereas 80 percent of species have not yet been described till date. Global diversity is measured by the observation of biodiversity and is affected by extinction and speciation. We, humans are the intelligent scintillating and smart creatures among others. Our dominating and infringing nature compel other to be in endanger lists. Human beings practice illegal poaching of animals for their individual benefits of making individual lifestyle better. For instance- One horn rhinoceros has been decimated for their horn to make lucrative uses in cosmetic products. Similarly, nearly 20,000 elephants are killed by poachers to trade illegal ivory trinkets in international markets each year. Thus, society should formulate strict laws and regulations to prevent poaching of innocent animals for people individual benefits and laws should be passed out from constituency regarding illegal trading of animals parts. There should be a sanction of severe punishment if anyone found involvement in illegal trading of animals bodies part.

Secondly, increase demands of goods and services with the increase in population undoubtedly increase pressure on the components of biodiversity resulting in exploitation of natural resources and plants vegetation. Human population is expected to grow from 8 billion to 11 billion by the end of this century resulting in unavoidable damage of biodiversity to seek the needs of daily life. Due to human encroachment in animal’s habitat in the form of deforestation disrupts their natural habitat of living in the form of habitual destruction. For instance- To meet the needs of daily furniture, many jungles are being exploited which results the migration of animals from their natural habitat and consequently of their extinction. The destruction of their natural habitat may contravene in human land results in serious clash of animals and human beings. The increase in population disrupts water ecosystem too as large amount of waste like solid waste and chemical waste are deposited in the sea shore resulting in dying of many sea animals due to poisonous effects of various chemicals. Therefore, society should make efforts to save endangered species by making strict rules and regulations to conserve their natural habitat.

However, there are many cases in which animals are led to the point of their extinction although there is low act of human activities. For example- Elephants give birth to their young ones in nearly 24 months of mating period. This slow process or mechanism of giving birth are leading them in the point of extinction in coming days. Similarly, natural calamities like flood, landslide and forest fire are also responsible for the killing of species in large number or disruption of their wildlife. For instance- The reason for the extinction of dinosaurs which was one of the dominating creatures in Mesozoic era extinguished due to volcanoes eruption and meteorite downfall which are far behind from human interruption. Although these environmental acts are unavoidable but their effects can be minimized by shifting the animals from vulnerable areas to highly preventive zones. These animals can be kept out of danger zones through proper nurturing, conserving their natural habitat and carrying effective scientific process of fertilization to increase their number.

In overall, society should implement effective solutions to prevent extinction of species either there are potential or non-potential means of human interaction or activities.