In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Well rounded individuals mean acquiring knowledge on more than one subject. It is well benefited to acquire knowledge in more than one discipline as it helps to gain knowledge in more than one subject. However, it is burdensome for many students to study subject different from their course of study as it leads to apply ample amount of time studying other subjects than that of individual courses. It is not feasible to apply rule to college students to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature in order to become well-rounded individuals as it puts some extra burden to students making them to drop out from college or incomplete in their leading course structure.

Firstly, a standard curriculum is prepared up to secondary level so that all the students are forced to study subject under such curriculum so that the syllabus is uniform. As many students up to secondary level are unable to choose career path or decide specific subjects to study in 10+2 or bachelor level so that the standard curriculum try to create interest in such students such that they learn desired subjects in higher studies. As students in lower classes are docile in nature and easily influence by the environment surrounding them without having specific qualification or understanding specific qualities. Thus, the well standard curriculum is set up in every schools to prepare students or creating interest in those students such that their specific goals can be achieved in near future.

Secondly, in higher studies like in college, students generally choose courses according to their course of interest or according to the environment where they can sustain their professional life. Students enroll in college or universities for certain period of time so that they pursue degree according to their self-interest. They are in the universities to master their courses and it is infeasible to force them to study poetry, novels, mythology and imaginative literature in order to make them all-rounder. Such routines work compel them to drop out from the college or mentally ill. Their involvement in extra subjects compel them to give less time in their main course of study where they are dreaming to lead the global world through remarkable influences. The further addition of extra subjects involves their mind to diverse in various subject which makes their career failure where they are dreaming to be successful.

Thirdly, it is always not true that forcing the students to study imaginative literature along with their main subjects lead to failure. There are some students who are willing to study subjects other than their main course in their leisure time. Sometimes, they choose peripheral profession along with main profession to earn their living. For instance, some engineering students have passion learning music, guitar and drum along with their main course. With the completion in graduation, they usually master in music courses too such that in their profession life they enjoy playing guitar and drums in leisure time. Some students involve in monetary profession using their peripheral courses.

In conclusion, choosing subjects other than main course of study is led up to students such that they choose according to their will or interest which might not lead them to drop out or mentally weak.